Look at the interactive GoogleMaps of all venues of the conference here!


University of Tartu Library

The University of Tartu Library (UTL) was founded in 1802. Collections of the University of Tartu Library amount to ca 3.9 million items. In addition to the books (among which about 2000 date back to 16th Century), the collections contain manuscripts, photos, works of art and recordings, and many other valuable publications. The library holds volumes of the world’s oldest scientific journal from 1665, and the oldest original document dates back to 1239. Besides preserving and lending out these items, the library provides conditions for studying, research, and conferences as well as other services.


Old Anatomical Building

Tartu Old Anatomical Theatre was constructed in 1805 on the south side of Toomemägi hill, close to town hall square. Outstanding anatomist A Rauber, pharmacologist
R Buchheim, physiologist F Bidder and surgeon N Burdenko worked in this building. Nowadays there is an interactive museum where one can see the equipment used by researchers in the 19th and the 20th centuries.


University of Tartu Museum

The University of Tartu Museum gives an overview of the history of science and university education from the 17th century to the present day, as well as of the student life in the past. The museum is situated in the centre of Tartu on Toome Hill, the historic heart of both Tartu and the University campus.


Estonian National Museum

The Estonian National Museum is an ethnologically and cultural-historically oriented museum which aims at reflecting everyday life and culture as a way of life, taking into account its periodical, spatial and social diversity. The museum focuses on collecting, preserving and studying material concerned with the culture and history of Estonians, Estonian minorities and Finno-Ugric peoples. Through the Museum’s exhibitions and events, one can take a look at Estonians’ everyday lives in different periods.


Tartu City Museum and the City of Tartu

Tartu City Museum was established in 1955. A large part of the museum’s collection consists of an archaeological anthology on the distant past of Tartu and a photographic collection reflecting the city’s spatial development. Visitors can learn about the diverse history of Tartu from our permanent exhibition “Dorpat. Yuryev. Tartu.”. The history of Tartu dates back to the ancient stronghold of Tarbatu. Visitors can find out about the medieval town of Dorpat, the havoc wreaked during the Livonian War, intellectual life under Polish and Swedish rule, locally handcrafted items from the 18th century and the many events linked to the Tartu Peace Treaty.